Spotlight On Sustainability

Spotlight On… Series.   Plan to set aside one afternoon a month for a new virtual learning experience. The second Tuesday of each month from August through July, APWA will offer education in 12 key public works focus areas. The series features sessions on relevant topics – most of which were selected for 2020 PWX, presented in varying formats to maximize participant learning and engagement. Webinar: 2:00 pm  ET | 1:00 pm CT | 12:00 pm MT | 11:00 am PT
When: May 11, 2021

Principles of PW Self-Assessment Workshop

The Principles of PW Self-Assessment virtual workshop has been developed with a focus on understanding the practices and completing the self-assessment process using the manual and software. Public works self-assessment provides opportunities for continuous improvement for your overall operations, ultimately leading to better quality of life for your community. Look ahead as you plan for a stronger, more resilient operation in which your employees are empowered by this opportunity to share their expertise and knowledge. Webinar: 1:30 pm  ET | 12:30 pm CT | 11:30 am MT | 10:30 am PT
When: May 13, 2021

 

Envision Sustainability Professional (ENV SP) Training

Envision was designed to help infrastructure stakeholders implement more sustainable projects. The ENV SP designation is becoming an increasingly important credential for any professional involved in civil infrastructure. Since its inception, more than 6,000 professionals have obtained their ENV SP credential, which has equipped them with the knowledge to apply the ground-breaking Envision concepts to their daily work. The purpose of this training is to equip participants to use Envision. The Envision Training will be held over four consecutive days for two hours each day. After completing the training candidates will understand how Envision works, how it can improve the sustainability of their projects, and be able to successfully apply it to assess project sustainability. Participants will also be qualified to take the Envision Sustainability Professional (ENV SP) exam. The cost of the exam is included in the training registration cost. Webinar: May 17, 18, 19, 20 11:00 am – 1:00 pm  ET | 10:00 am – 12:00 pm CT | 9:00 am – 11 am MT | 8:00 am – 10 am PT
When: May 17, 2021

 

Third Thursday Advocacy Jam! – May 2021

Join Government Affairs staff and volunteer leaders from the U.S. and Canada for PWX@Home Third Thursday Advocacy Jams to discuss public works policy issues, such as public right-of-way, emergency management, workforce development, water resources, and surface transportation. In addition to interactive discussion inspired by PWX Happy Hour Jams, Third Thursday Advocacy Jams will, when needed, include legislative and public policy updates. Come join the conversation!   Webinar, 2:30 – 3:30 PM Central time (3:30 – 4:30 PM Eastern, 1:30 – 2:30 PM Mountain, 12:30 – 1:30 PM Pacific)
When: May 20, 2021

Small Cities/Rural Communities Perspective On EM

“SMALL CITIES/RURAL COMMUNITIES PERSPECTIVE ON EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT” Small cities and rural communities often face similar challenges as larger and urban communities but due to fewer resources, solutions often require a different approach and creativity.  Join this panel discussion the first Wednesday of each month to hear the perspective of public works professionals in small cities and rural communities.   Webinar, 12-1 PM Central time (1-2 PM Eastern, 11 AM – 12 PM Mountain, 10 – 11 AM Pacific)
When: June 02, 2021

Spotlight On Emergency Management

Spotlight On… Series.   Plan to set aside one afternoon a month for a new virtual learning experience. The second Tuesday of each month from August through July, APWA will offer education in 12 key public works focus areas. The series features sessions on relevant topics – most of which were selected for 2020 PWX, presented in varying formats to maximize participant learning and engagement. Webinar: 2:00 pm  ET | 1:00 pm CT | 12:00 pm MT | 11:00 am PT
When: June 08, 2021

A New Community Amenity, The Splashpad

Splashpads have become a valuable city amenity across the country, but many facilities and/or grounds managers are unsure what is needed to acquire, plan, and manage a splashpad.  Our panel will discuss design and challenges, safety and maintenance, and what to know when working with vendors.  Webinar, 10-11 AM Central time (11 AM – 12 PM Eastern, 9-10 AM Mountain, 8-9 AM Pacific)
When: June 17, 2021

Accreditation Open Forum

Accredited agencies and agencies getting started or interested in the benefits of completing the self-assessment process on the road to Accreditation have similar challenges when undertaking the continuous improvement effort. Join this panel discussion on a quarterly basis to gain insight into how your peer agencies managed their day-to-day operations to complete the self-assessment and achieve the Accreditation designation. Questions are encouraged, ideas will be shared and helpful hints will be offered to everyone in attendance. Webinar: 3:00 pm  ET | 2:00 pm CT | 1:00 pm MT | 12:00 pm PT
When: June 22, 2021

Lessons as First Responders

“Lessons as First Responders:  Responding to Extreme Winter Conditions in Texas”  The winter conditions in Texas this year were more extreme than any in recent memory. During this live event, public works professionals will share how they communicated with elected officials and the public during the emergency.  They will discuss the emergency preparation, response, and recovery plans, as well as lessons learned as first responders. Participants will be able to ask questions during the event.   Webinar, 1:00 PM- 2:30 PM Central time (2:00 PM – 3:30 PM Eastern, 12:00 PM – 1:30 PM Mountain, 11:00 AM – 12:30 PM Pacific)
When: June 24, 2021